top of page

These 100 N.J. students have been named to the Governor’s STEM Scholars class of 2021-22

The Governor’s STEM Scholars has announced its 2021-22 class, made up of 100 high school and college STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math) students from across the Garden State.

The scholars is a public-private partnership between the Research & Development Council of New Jersey, the Governor’s Office, the state Department of Education, the state Secretary of Higher Education, and public and private research institutions based in New Jersey.

“By 2027, STEM jobs will grow by nine percent in New Jersey,” said Anthony Cicatiello, president of the Research & Development Council of New Jersey. “The Governor’s STEM Scholars introduces the state’s best and brightest STEM students to the STEM companies, professionals, research, and opportunities available in the Garden State. “Through the Governor’s STEM Scholars, we are ensuring our state’s talented students stay in New Jersey to fill these roles, securing our academic and workforce pipeline for the future,” The effort introduces New Jersey’s high achieving high school and college students to industry, academic and government research in New Jersey. This year marks the eighth class of scholars and the most diverse. Of the 100 members, 66% are female, 82% identify as a Person of Color, and 32% have a racial identity underrepresented in STEM fields, specifically Black, Latinx or Indigenous. As well, 27% are, or will be, first-generation college students. The scholars come from across the state and represent 20 of New Jersey counties. Scholars were selected from a pool of more than 600 applicants and had to have at least a 3.5 GPA, be high school sophomores through doctorial-level at a New Jersey-based high school or university, and demonstrate a passion for STEM. “From the lightbulb to the submarine, the transistor to the one-shot COVID-19 vaccine, New Jersey has an illustrious history of research and innovation led by its deep pool of talented STEM professionals,” said Alise Roderer, director of the Governor’s STEM Scholars. “Generations from now, it is these 100 future scientists, inventors and innovators who we will admire and study for their contributions to society.” Scholars will participate in four conferences being held at New Jersey Institute of Technology, Rowan University, Stevens Institute of Technology and Kean University. They will participate in a research project, led by undergraduate and graduate-level scholars, that advances the work of New Jersey’s research community and tour New Jersey STEM facilities and laboratories and network with STEM professionals. The 2021-22 Governor’s STEM Scholars are: Atlantic

  • Krisha Patel

  • Isabela Simpson

  • Peter Tran


  • Shriya Dani

  • Shivam Dave

  • Sumana Gadiraju

  • Hailey Haglid

  • Zain Kamal

  • William Lee

  • Gianna Meurer

  • Habiba Morsy

  • Hannah Park

  • Erika Toliao


  • Nikhil Arayath

  • Devin Torres

  • Camden

  • Lesslie Montiel

  • Cape May

  • Emily Mawhinney


  • Emma Fylstra


  • Leonard Jasper

  • Alexandre Jean

  • Elaina Mann

  • Deborah McDougall

  • JéVanni Napoleon

  • Achunike Okafor

  • Julia Schanen

  • Nathaniel Vinoya


  • Sofia Capitillo-Villasmil

  • Vincent Fox

  • Senay Tesfamichael


  • Shrutee Sangeeta Behera

  • Sophia Benavente-Sayani

  • Kamila Esquivel

  • Ankit Mithbavkar

  • Abigail Negron

  • Sade Peña

  • Aileen Rangel

  • Mitchell Tillman

  • Nicolle Vilca


  • Shubhranshu Dutta


  • Ananya Balaji

  • Gabriella Dong

  • Fadi Farag

  • Janani Rajan

  • Siddharth Satish


  • Natasha Antin

  • Arnuv Batra

  • Ramrithvik Gadhamsetty

  • Moho Goswami

  • Ella Joasil

  • Tamara Kasikovic

  • Madeline Keel

  • Sanya Kohli

  • Shricharan Kulavanikerpuram Subramaniam

  • Darshan Lakshminarayanan

  • Aliza Lopez

  • Sydney Munn

  • Bhavini Pandey

  • Diya Patel

  • Ariyana Rahman

  • Kayla Soto

  • Prasiddha Sudhakar

  • Shivam Syal

  • Alvin Wu


  • Cassidy Brennan

  • Sophia Dengler

  • Aleksander Garbuz

  • Amanda Guan

  • Annette Kersten

  • Anita Osuri

  • Justine Prophete

  • Shreshth Rajan

  • Audrey Yan


  • Willy Chan

  • Isa Khan

  • Siya Kulkarni

  • Andric Lu

  • Mihir Rao

  • Christopher Sebastian

  • Ella-Maria Sharkey

  • Ananya Shrivastava

  • Lisa Stites


  • Jacquelyn Anderson

  • Nayeli Rojas


  • Cameron Farid

  • Nona Fulmore Harris

  • Fhameda Sultan


  • Sarah Zampino


  • Yuhua Chen

  • Daisy Dong

  • Isha Gangavaram

  • Xavier Garay

  • Jiya Mody

  • Anika Parthiban

  • June Yin

  • Daniel Zhang

  • Helen Zheng


  • Sweksha Mehta

  • Antonio Mena

  • Claudia Reines

  • Diana Stinkova


bottom of page